

ANC 6B Mailing Address:

The Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital 921 Pennsylvania Avenue, SE Washington, DC 20003-2141

Main Office E-mail:

6b@anc.dc.gov

OFFICERS

Chairperson *Chander Jayaraman*

Vice-Chair Kasie Clark

Secretary

Jerry Sroufe

Treasurer

Corey Holman

Parliamentarian Brian Ready

COMMISSIONERS

6B01 Jennifer Samolyk

6B02 Jerry Sroufe

6B03 Brian Ready

6B04 Kirsten Oldenburg

6B05 Steve Holtzman

6B06 Corey Holman

6B07 Kelly Waud

6B08 Chander Jayaraman

6B09 Kasie Clark

6B10 Denise Krepp

January 22, 2019

Marnique Heath, Chair Historic Preservation Review Board 1100 4th Street SW, Suite E650 Washington, DC 20024

VIA E-MAIL: gabriela.gutowski@dc.gov

RE: HPA #19-079: 628 A Street, SE; Concept/two-story rear and side, one-story rooftop addition

Dear Chairperson Heath:

At a regularly scheduled, properly noticed, meeting on January 15, 2019, with a quorum present, Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) 6B voted 9-1-0 to support the applicant's above-referenced request.

ANC 6B believes that the design elements of the proposed project are compatible with the character of neighboring buildings on the block and consistent with Historic Preservation Guidelines as they apply to the Capitol Hill Historic District. The Applicant proposes to:

- Construct in the side yard an arched walkway that extends from the front to rear of the building on the entry floor but would retain much of the existing rear yard;
- Expand the second floor above the side yard
- Extend the building such that it aligns with the rear wall of 626 A ST, SE but would be shorter than 630 A ST, SE; and,
- Build a third story addition at the rear of the property that would not be visible from the front or a public sidewalk.

Please contact Commissioner Corey Holman, ANC 6B's Planning and Zoning (P&Z) Committee Chair, at 301-664-4132 or 6b06@anc.dc.gov if you have questions or need further information.

Sincerely,

Chander Jayaraman Chairman, ANC 6B

cc via e-mail:

Owner / Architect: Jason and Anne Thomas/Jennifer Fowler, Fowler Architects

P&Z Comm. Chair: Corey Holman SMD Commissioner: Jerry Sroufe, 6B02