

921 Pennsylvania Avenue SE Washington, DC 20003-2141 6B@anc.dc.gov

**OFFICERS** 

Chairperson

Brian Ready

Vice-Chair Chander Jayaraman

Secretary

Jerry Sroufe

Treasurer Corey Holman

Parliamentarian
Kelly Waud

## COMMISSIONERS

SMD 01 Jennifer Samolyk
SMD 02 Jerry Sroufe
SMD 03 Brian Ready
SMD 04 Kirsten Oldenburg
SMD 05 Steve Holtzman
SMD 06 Corey Homan
SMD 07 Kelly Waud

SMD 08 Chander Jayaraman

SMD 09 Kasie Clark

SMD 10 Denise Krepp

January 16, 2020

Keith Anderson, Director District Department of General Services 2000 14th Street NW, 8th Floor Washington, DC 20009 Jeffrey Marootian, Director District Department of Transportation 55 M Street SE Washington, DC 20003

VIA email: keith.anderson@dc.gov VIA email: ancresolutions@ddot.dc.gov

RE: ANC 6B Position on the EMMP Transportation Impact Study

Dear Director Anderson and Director Marootian;

At a properly noticed regular meeting of Advisory Neighborhood Commission 6B on January 14, 2020, with a quorum present, the Commission voted 8-0-0, as follows, on the elements of the EMMP Transportation Impact Study.

- The ANC <u>rejects</u> the Study's option to reverse the traffic direction of the 700 and the 800 blocks of D Street SE;
- Supports the Study's option of adding pedestrian safety measures at the intersections of 7th and of 9th Street SE and South Carolina Avenue SE and to add a tabletop crossing of 7th Street SE between Parcel 4 and the SE Library;
- Supports the Study's option of adding sidewalk bulb outs at the west and east ends of the 800 block of D Street SE and at the southwest corner of the 700 block of D Street SE at the intersection of 7th Street SE;
- Supports the Study's option to close the slip lane on Parcel 3 (south of Pennsylvania Avenue SE); and
- Supports the Study's option to close the slip lane on Parcel 6 (north of Pennsylvania Avenue SE) noting the Commission's concern for the safety of the heavy volume of pedestrian traffic at the NW corner of 8th Street SE and Pennsylvania Avenue SE with the closure of the slip lane.



Please contact Commissioner Kirsten Oldenburg, ANC 6B Transportation Committee Chair at 202-546-8542 or 6B04@anc.dc.gov, if you have any questions about this support or need further information.

Sincerely,

Brian Ready

Chair, ANC 6B

cc: Andrew deFrank (DDOT), Cassidy Mullen (DGS), Tyler Williams (MOCR)