

921 Pennsylvania Avenue SE Washington, DC 20003-2141 6B@anc.dc.gov

OFFICERS

Chairperson
Chander Jayaraman

Vice-Chair Kasie Clark

Secretary Gerald Sroufe

Treasurer *Corey Holman*

Parliamentarian *Brian Ready*

COMMISSIONERS

SMD 01 Jennifer Samolyk

SMD 02 Gerald Sroufe

SMD 03 Brian Ready

SMD 04 Kirsten Oldenburg

SMD 05 Steve Holtzman

SMD 06 Corey Holman

SMD 07 Kelly Waud

SMD 08 Chander Jayaraman

SMD 09 Kasie Clark

SMD 10 Denise Krepp

Ms. Catrina Felder
Public Space Committee Coordinator
Public Space Regulation Administration
District Department of Transportation
1100 4th Street, SW, 3nd Floor
Washington, DC 20024

SUBMITTED VIA TOPS PERMIT REVIEW SYSTEM

RE: **DDOT Tracking** # **322630** Folger Shakespeare Library, Owner Melody Fetske, 201 East Capitol St SE. Renovation of existing public space features including construction of new addition in public space.

March 15, 2019

Dear Ms. Felder:

At a regularly scheduled, properly noticed, meeting on March 12, 2019, with a quorum present, Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) 6B voted 10-0-0 to **support** the applicant's above-referenced request based on the Commission's review of proposed plans.

The Commission fully supports the changes in public space including, but not limited to:

- 1. Removal of the curb cut and circular drive on the west side of the property
- 2. Relocation of the heritage southern magnolia on the west side of the property
- 3. Creation of new entry ramps and perennial gardens in the northwest and northeast corners of the property
- 4. Creation of an underground gallery in public space under the plinth
- 5. Creation/expansion of publicly accessible gardens on the sides of the property
- 6. Removal of extensive amounts of fencing, handrails, and temporary ADA ramps throughout the property to be replaced the by new entrance partly in public space.
- 7. Addition of ramps on the north side leading up to the plinth.

Please contact Commissioner Corey Holman, ANC 6B's Planning and Zoning (P&Z) Committee Chair, at 301-664-4132 or 6B06@anc.dc.gov if you have questions or need further information.

Sincerely,

Chander Jayaraman Chairman, ANC 6B

cc via e-mail:

Applicant: Sarah Vonesh
P&Z Committee Chair: Corey Holman
SMD Commissioner: Jennifer Samolyk

Adjacent ANC: 6C