

921 Pennsylvania Avenue SE Washington, DC 20003-2141 6B@anc.dc.gov

OFFICERS

Chairperson
Chander Jayaraman

Vice-Chair *Kasie Clark*

Secretary Jerry Sroufe

Treasurer *Corey Holman*

Parliamentarian *Brian Ready*

COMMISSIONERS

SMD 01 Jennifer Samolyk

SMD 02 Jerry Sroufe

SMD 03 Brian Ready

SMD 04 Kirsten Oldenburg

SMD 05 Steve Holtzman

SMD 06 Corey Holman

SMD 07 Kelly Waud

SMD 08 Chander Jayaraman

SMD 09 Kasie Clark

SMD 10 Denise Krepp

May 24, 2019

Marnique Heath, Chair Historic Preservation Review Board 1100 4th Street SW, Suite E650 Washington, DC 20024

VIA E-MAIL: <u>Julianna.Jackson@dc.gov</u>

RE: HPA # 19-326, Square 0762, Lot 0823 (aka 203 Rear 3rd St SE), concept/one-story addition at rear

Dear Chairperson Heath:

At a regularly scheduled, properly noticed, meeting on May 14, 2019, with a quorum present, Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) 6B voted 9-0-0 to <u>support</u> the applicant's above-referenced request.

The applicant presented concept plans dated April 26, 2019. We understand that, after review from HPO staff, there will be revisions to window size and detailing where the addition meets the existing building. The ANC had no specific comments on these aspects.

The Commission received letters expressing opposition from one adjoining neighbor and heard conditional support from another. The ANC recognizes much of the opposition is pertinent to zoning issues and will be addressed later in front of the Board of Zoning Adjustment.

The Commission urged the applicant to continue working with the neighbor in opposition to seek acceptable screening between the subject property and the rear of the neighbor's property.

ANC 6B recommends that HPRB approve this concept application as compatible with the character of the Capitol Hill Historic District and thanks you for giving this recommendation great weight.

Please contact Commissioner Corey Holman, ANC 6B's Planning and Zoning (P&Z) Committee Chair, at 301-664-4132 or 6b06@anc.dc.gov if you have questions or need further information.

Sincerely,

Chander Jayaraman Chair, ANC 6B

cc via e-mail:

Owner / Architect: Mateusz Dzierzanowski

P&Z Committee Chair: Corey Holman
SMD Commissioner: Jennifery Samolyk

CHRS Beth Purcell