

921 Pennsylvania Avenue SE Washington, DC 20003-2141 6B@anc.dc.gov

OFFICERS Chairperson Chander Jayaraman

Vice-Chair Kasie Clark

Secretary Jerry Sroufe

Treasurer *Corey Holman*

Parliamentarian Brian Ready

COMMISSIONERS

SMD 01 Jennifer Samolyk
SMD 02 Jerry Sroufe
SMD 03 Brian Ready
SMD 04 Kirsten Oldenburg
SMD 05 Steve Holtzman
SMD 06 Corey Homan
SMD 07 Kelly Waud
SMD 08 Chander Jayaraman
SMD 09 Kasie Clark
SMD 10 Denise Krepp

Jeff Marootian, Director DDOT 55 M Street SE Washington, DC 20003

VIA EMAIL: jeff.marootian@dc.gov

Subject: Request for Reprogramming in FY19 PaveDC Plan

Dear Director Marootian;

At a properly noticed regular meeting of Advisory Neighborhood Commission 6B on May 14, 2019, with a quorum present the Commission voted 9-0-0 to send this letter requesting reprogramming in the FY19 PaveDC plan as well as to officially request the underlying data used in deciding which streets are going to be resurfaced.

We are asking DDOT to defer the 1200 and 1300 blocks of E Street SE from the PaveDC plan. The ANC supports of this deferment because there are three large construction projects that are still making utility cuts and occupying roadway space. We appreciate your including these blocks in the plan, of course, and encourage you to work with Foulger-Pratt, the final developer of the projects on E Street, to coordinate resurfacing immediately following their in-street utility work.

Second, ANC 6B requests the data underlying decisions by which streets are included in the PaveDC plan. Thus, ANC 6B requests a list of all local and Federal blocks in ANC 6B and (1) their roadway condition rating, (2) any pavement or distress notes for each block, (3) any documented pavement treatment type for blocks, and (4) any project plans or work prioritization for any block. While ANC 6B requests these data for its Commission area, ANC 6B also encourages DDOT to make all data in the Citywide Roadway Condition and Inventory Database publicly accessible through the DC Open Data Portal. We struggle to understand why certain blocks are resurfaced while other, worse blocks continue to be ignored.

Thank you for your prompt attention to these matters. Please contact

May 21, 2019



Commissioner Kirsten Oldenburg, ANC 6B Transportation Committee Chair at 202-546-8542 or <u>6B04@anc.dc.gov</u> or Commissioner Corey Holman, <u>6B06@anc.dc.gov</u>, if you have any questions about this request or need further information.

Sincerely,

Chander Jayaraman Chair, ANC 6B

Cc:

Jose Aldayuz, Supervisory General Engineer (Asset Management) Aaron Horton, Associate Director Maintenance Division Evert Lott, DDOT Deputy Director Naomi Klein, DDOT Community Outreach Specialist Lee Goodall