

May 27, 2019

921 Pennsylvania Avenue SE Washington, DC 20003-2141 6B@anc.dc.gov

## **OFFICERS**

Chairperson Chander Jayaraman

Vice-Chair Kasie Clark

Secretary Jerry Sroufe

Treasurer *Corey Holman* 

Parliamentarian Brian Ready

## COMMISSIONERS

SMD 01 Jennifer Samolyk
SMD 02 Jerry Sroufe
SMD 03 Brian Ready
SMD 04 Kirsten Oldenburg
SMD 05 Steve Holtzman
SMD 06 Corey Homan
SMD 07 Kelly Waud
SMD 08 Chander Jayaraman
SMD 09 Kasie Clark
SMD 10 Denise Krepp

Chairman Mendelson Council of the District of Columbia 1350 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Suite 504 Washington, DC 20004

VIA EMAIL - pmendelson@dccouncil.us

Subject: Freedom of Information Clarification Amendment

Dear Mr. Chairman Mendelson,

At a regularly scheduled properly noticed meeting on May 14, 2019, with a quorum present Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) 6B voted 8-1-0 to write you regarding the Freedom of Information Clarification Amendment that is included in the proposed Fiscal Year 2020 Budget. ANC6B opposes the amendment.

The amendment limits the definition to public record, narrowing it to "information regarding the affairs of government and the official acts of public officials and employees." Earlier this year, the public learned about efforts on the part of Councilmember Evans to solicit private business using his official Council of the District of Columbia email address. This information was shared pursuant to the current definition of "public record" and this transparency of action must remain.

But for transparency of information, we would not know about the \$ 3 million DC tax dollars used to pay sexual harassment and sexual assault settlement agreements and judgements involving DC agency employees. We would not know about the significant decline in parking enforcement on Capitol Hill nor MPD's policies for reviewing body camera video.

We therefore respectfully request that the Freedom of Information Act Amendment be removed from the Fiscal Year 2020 Budget.

Please contact Commissioner Denise Krepp, at <u>6B10@anc.dc.gov</u> if you have any questions about this letter.



Sincerely,

Chander Jayaraman Chair, ANC 6B

Cc:

Anita Bonds, At-Large Councilmember David Grosso, At-Large Councilmember Elissa Silverman, At-Large Councilmember Robert C. White, Jr., At-Large Councilmember Brianne K. Nadeau, Ward 1 Councilmember Jack Evans, Ward 2 Councilmember Mary M. Cheh, Ward 3 Councilmember Brandon T. Todd, Ward 4 Councilmember Brandon T. Todd, Ward 4 Councilmember Kenyan R. McDuffie, Ward 5 Councilmember Charles Allen, Ward 6 Councilmember Vincent C. Gray, Ward 7 Councilmember Trayon White, Sr., Ward 8 Councilmember