

September 14, 2019

921 Pennsylvania Avenue SE Washington, DC 20003-2141 6B@anc.dc.gov

Mayor Muriel Bowser 1350 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, #406 Washington, DC 20004

Via e-mail - Muriel.Bowser@dc.gov

Re: Sexual Abuse and Harassment in Washington DC Schools

Dear Mayor Bowser:

At a regularly scheduled properly noticed meeting on September 10, 2019, with a quorum present Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) 6B voted 7-0-2 to write you regarding sexual abuse, harassment, and assault in Washington, DC public, private, and charter schools.

On June 24, 2019, 58 Advisory Neighborhood Commissioners and State Board of Education representatives requested information on sexual abuse, harassment, and assault in DC schools. Deputy Mayor for Education Kihn shared in an August 8, 2019 letter to Commissioner Krepp that there were 6 cases of substantiated sexual harassment cases since January 1, 2018, and that three individuals found to have committed sexual harassment remain employed by DCPS.

Commissioner Krepp requested the names of the schools wherein the sexual harassment occurred. Deputy Mayor Kihn declined this request on August 20th stating that he had not yet "heard a compelling argument to release such an aggregated list, i.e. how this list will help keep students safe." To date the Deputy Mayor has provided no information on substantiated sexual abuse, assault, and harassment occurring in DC schools.

Please ask the Deputy Mayor for Education to share the names of the six schools where sexual harassment occurred with ANC 6B. Additionally, please ask him to share data on the sexual abuse, assault, and harassment occurring in private and charter schools within ANC6B.

Please contact Commissioner Denise Krepp, at 6B10@anc.dc.gov if you have any questions about this letter.

**OFFICERS** 

Chairperson
Chander Jayaraman

Vice-Chair Kasie Clark

Secretary

Jerry Sroufe

Treasurer Corey Holman

Parliamentarian Brian Ready

## **COMMISSIONERS**

SMD 01 Jennifer Samolyk

SMD 02 Jerry Sroufe

SMD 03 Brian Ready

SMD 04 Kirsten Oldenburg

SMD 05 Steve Holtzman

SMD 06 Corey Homan

SMD 07 Kelly Waud

SMD 08 Chander Jayaraman

SMD 09 Kasie Clark

SMD 10 Denise Krepp

Sincerely,

Chander Jayaraman

Chair, ANC 6B

Cc: Charles Allen, Councilmember Ward 6