

September 22, 2023

700 Pennsylvania Avenue SE

Ste. #2032

Washington, DC 20003

6B@anc.dc.gov

**OFFICERS** 

Chairperson

Edward Ryder

Vice-Chair

Chander Jayaraman

Secretary

David Sobelsohn

Treasurer

Frank Avery

Parliamentarian

Kasie Durkit

**COMMISSIONERS** 

SMD 01 Frank Avery

SMD 02 Jerry Sroufe

SMD 03 David Sobelsohn

SMD 04 Frank D'Andrea

SMD 05 Kasie Durkit

SMD 06 Chander Jayaraman

SMD 07 Vince Mareino

SMD 08 Edward Ryder

SMD 09 Matt LaFortune

The Honorable Phil Mendelson

District of Columbia, Council Chairman

John A. Wilson Building

1350 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Suite 504

Washington DC, 20004

The Honorable Charles Allen

District of Columbia, Ward 6 Councilmember

John A. Wilson Building

1350 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Suite 110

Washington DC, 20004

VIA E-MAIL: pmendelson@dccouncil.gov; callen@dccouncil.gov

RE: Request to Name the Alley in Square 969

Dear Chairman Mendelson and Councilmember Allen:

At its regularly scheduled, properly noticed meeting on September 12, 2023, with a quorum of 8 Commissioners present, Advisory Neighborhood Commission 6B (ANC 6B) voted (8-0-0) to support the official naming of the alley in Square 696 (informally known as "Sladen's Walk") as "Sladen's Court".

The proposed name is based on the consensus of the neighbors that abut the aforementioned alley and which was informally named to honor Bruce Sladen. See this <u>Washington Post article</u> for more information. The Commission asks you to present this request to the DC Council as soon as possible.

Please contact Frank D'Andrea, Chair of ANC6B Planning and Zoning Committee at <u>6b04@anc.dc.gov</u> if you have questions or need further information.

Respectfully,

Edward Ryder

Chair, ANC 6B

Cc

Monique Bexley, CC Mendelson, Administrative Director

Katie Mitchell, CM Allen, Chief of Staff

Kasie Durkit, ANC SMD 6B05

Chander Jayaraman, ANC SMD 6B06

Elizabeth Paisner