

April 8, 2023

700 Pennsylvania Avenue SE Suite #2032 Washington, DC 20003 6B@anc.dc.gov

## OFFICERS

Chairperson Edward Ryder

Vice-Chair *Vince Mareino* 

Secretary David Sobelsohn

Treasurer Frank Avery

Parliamentarian *Kasie Durkit* 

## COMMISSIONERS

SMD 01 Frank Avery
SMD 02 Jerry Sroufe
SMD 03 David Sobelsohn
SMD 04 Frank D'Andrea
SMD 05 Kasie Durkit
SMD 06 Chander Jayaraman
SMD 07 Vince Mareino
SMD 08 Edward Ryder

SMD 09 Matt LaFortune

Sharon Kershbaum, Acting Director Department of Transportation Transportation Operations Division 250 M Street, SE Washington, DC 20003

RE: Notice of Intent (NOI) #24-96-TESD: 13<sup>th</sup> Street/Independence Avenue/Kentucky Avenue SE Vision Zero Hardening

At its regularly scheduled, properly noticed, meeting on April 8, 2024, with a quorum present, Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) 6B voted 3-1-4 to request an extension of time for ANC 6B to provide input on the above referenced NOI from the current date of May 6, 2024 until May 20, 2024 which the Monday immediately following the May monthly meeting of ANC 6B.

The Commission requests these extensions so that the ANC can consider this in regular order without violating its Bylaws. While the NOI is dated March 22, 2024, the email notifying ANC 6B was not sent to the Chair of ANC 6B until March 28, 2024 which fell after ANC 6B's regularly scheduled Executive Committee Meeting. The date of the email also provided insufficient time (less than a week) for Commissioner Jayaraman (SMD 6B06) to notify constituents and gather input. In addition, ANC 6B Bylaws require that affected neighbors and the public be notified at least one week in advance prior to the ANC taking action on a particular case. Therefore, ANC 6B request that DDOT grant our reasonable request for an extension.

Please contact Cmr. Matt LaFortune, Chair of ANC 6B's Transportation Committee at <u>6b07@anc.dc.gov</u> or Cmr. Chander Jayaraman, SMD Commissioner for 6B06 at 202-546-2609 or <u>6b06@anc.dc.gov</u>, if you have questions or need further information.

Sincere Edward Rvder

Chair, ANC 6B

 cc: Cmr. Matt LaFortune, ANC 6B Transportation Committee Chair Cmr. Chander Jayaram, Commissioner for 6B06 Noah Bell, Project Engineer Abraham Diallo, Ward 6 Community Engagement Specialist