

June 11, 2024

700 Pennsylvania Avenue SE Ste. #2032 Washington, DC 20003 6B@anc.dc.gov

Ms. Sharon Kershbaum Interim Director Department of Transportation

250 M Street, SE Washington, DC 20003

VIA EMAIL: sharon.kershbaum@dc.gov;

Re: 8th St. SE Bus Priority Project

Dear Director Kershbaum:

At a properly noticed general meeting on June 11, 2024, with a quorum present, Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) 6B voted 8-0-0, based on the recommendation of its Transportation Committee, to submit the following request to the Department of Transportation (DDOT).

During the June 5, 2024 meeting of our Transportation Committee, ANC 6B heard from local business owners asking for details on the planned 8th St. SE Bus Priority Project. ANC 6B received presentations from DDOT in September and December 2023 and requests a follow-up meeting to clarify the current status of the project and latest plans.

Additionally, we urge DDOT to:

- Post the latest project plans on its website if anything has changed since the concept presentations last fall,
- Conduct more outreach to businesses that would be impacted by the project and update the ANC on the outreach that DDOT has already conducted,
- Add more signs to note the public parking area under the I-695 highway to help address concerns about the loss of street parking, and
- Present data that substantiates its proposed actions for the project

Thank you in advance for considering and granting great weight to our recommendations. We look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Edward Ryder, Chair of ANC 6B

OFFICERS

Chairperson Edward Ryder

Vice-Chair Vince Mareino

Secretary David Sobelsohn

Treasurer Frank Avery

Parliamentarian Kasie Durkit

COMMISSIONERS

SMD 01 Frank Avery

SMD 02 Jerry Sroufe

SMD 03 David Sobelsohn

SMD 04 Frank D'Andrea

SMD 05 Kasie Durkit

SMD 06 Chander Jayaraman

SMD 07 Vince Mareino

SMD 08 Edward Ryder

SMD 09 Matt LaFortune