

700 Pennsylvania Avenue SE

Ste. #2032

Washington, DC 20003

6B@anc.dc.gov

**OFFICERS** 

Chairperson

Edward Ryder

Vice-Chair

Vince Mareino

Secretary

David Sobelsohn

Treasurer

Frank Avery

Parliamentarian

Kasie Durkit

## COMMISSIONERS

SMD 01 Frank Avery

SMD 02 Jerry Sroufe

SMD 03 David Sobelsohn

SMD 04 Frank D'Andrea

SMD 05 Kasie Durkit

SMD 06 Chander Jayaraman

SMD 07 Vince Mareino

SMD 08 Edward Ryder

SMD 09 Matt LaFortune

July 9, 2024

Mr. Frederick Hill, Chairperson Board of Zoning Adjustment District of Columbia Office of Zoning 441 4th Street NW, Suite 200/210-S Washington, DC 20001

VIA: Interactive Zoning Information System Filing - IZIS

RE: BZA 21144: 411 8th Street SE; To permit a fast-food establishment use in an existing, attached, two-story commercial building in the MU-4/CHC zone. (Square 16, Lot 902)

Dear Chairman Hill:

At a regularly scheduled, properly noticed, meeting on July 9th, 2024, with a quorum present, Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) 6B voted (7-0-0) to support the applicant's above-referenced request. This letter supersedes our previous letter dated June 25, 2024.

ANC 6B's support for the requested fast-food and side setback special exceptions is conditioned on the BZA's incorporating in any order it may issue the conditions agreed to by the Applicant and Property Owner, on the one hand, and the residential and commercial neighbors on Square 902, on the other, as outlined in the revised list of proposed conditions (BZA Exhibit 40A) and incorporated Exhibits A-E.

ANC 6B also continues to support the relief requested regarding penthouse enclosures and setbacks as well as the waiver of public notice for these items. The items in question were added in response to neighbor concerns and are, therefore, part in parcel of our support of the conditions outlined in Exhibit 22B.

Finally, ANC 6B would like to commend the Applicant and Neighbors for the collaborative and good faith process they engaged in and for including the provisions not able to be included by the BZA in their order in a separate Memorandum of Agreement (MOA).

Please find attached a completed copy of Form 129.

Frank D'Andrea, Chair of ANC 6B's Planning and Zoning Committee, is authorized to represent ANC 6B in front of the Board on this matter.



700 Pennsylvania Avenue SE Ste. #2032 Washington, DC 20003 6B@anc.dc.gov

**OFFICERS** 

Chairperson Edward Ryder

Vice-Chair Vince Mareino

Secretary

David Sobelsohn

Treasurer Frank Avery

Parliamentarian Kasie Durkit

## **COMMISSIONERS**

SMD 01 Frank Avery

SMD 02 Jerry Sroufe

SMD 03 David Sobelsohn

SMD 04 Frank D'Andrea

SMD 05 Kasie Durkit

SMD 06 Chander Jayaraman

SMD 07 Vince Mareino

SMD 08 Edward Ryder

SMD 09 Matt LaFortune

Please contact Frank D'Andrea, Chair of ANC 6B's Planning and Zoning Committee at 6b04@anc.dc.gov if you have questions or need further information.

Respectfully,

Edward Ryder Chair, ANC 6B

Cc:

Applicants: Zusin Development, LLC /Christopher S. Cohen

PZ Committee Chair: Frank D'Andrea, SMD 6B04 SMD Commissioner: David Sobelsohn, SMD 6B03