

**November 12, 2024** 

700 Pennsylvania Avenue SE Ste. #2032

Washington, DC 20003 6B@anc.dc.gov

## **OFFICERS**

Chairperson Edward Ryder

Vice Chair
Vince Mareino

Secretary

David Sobelsohn

Treasurer Frank Avery

Parliamentarian VACANT

## **COMMISSIONERS**

SMD 01 Frank Avery
SMD 02 Jerry Sroufe
SMD 03 David Sobelsohn
SMD 04 Frank D'Andrea
SMD 05 VACANT
SMD 06 Chander Jayaraman
SMD 07 Vince Mareino
SMD 08 Edward Ryder
SMD 09 Matt LaFortune

Councilmember Brooke Pinto, Ward 2, DC Council Chair, DC Council Committee on the Judiciary and Public Safety 1350 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Suite 106 Washington, DC 20004 <a href="mailto:bpinto@dccouncil.gov">bpinto@dccouncil.gov</a>

The Honorable Muriel Bowser Mayor, District of Columbia 1350 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Suite 406 Washington, DC 20004 muriel.bowser@dc.gov

DELIVERED VIA EMAIL: <u>bpinto@dccouncil.gov</u>; <u>muriel.bowser@dc.gov</u>

## Re: Request to DC Council for Hearing on Reliable and Effective 911 Act and Full Implementation of 911 System Improvement Task Force

At a properly noticed general meeting on [date], with a quorum present, Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) 6B voted unanimously, based on the unanimous recommendation of its Public Safety Committee, to submit the following request.

## Dear Councilmember Pinto, Mayor Bowser, and Members of the DC Council:

On behalf of the residents of Advisory Neighborhood Commission 6B, ANC 6B expresses deep concern about the <u>ongoing challenges within the Office of Unified Communications (OUC)</u>, specifically regarding the response times and accuracy of 911 call handling. These issues have far-reaching impacts on public safety, and the delays in response are an urgent matter for our community.

During this critical period, we believe that all reasonable legislative measures aimed at addressing these on-going issues should be given due consideration in order to ensure final policy is balanced, well-crafted, and represents a diverse range of perspectives. Over the past 18 months since its inception, the ANC 6B Public Safety Committee has engaged in conversations with the Deputy Mayor of Public Safety Lindsey Appiah and several DC Councilmembers, especially those on the DC Council Judiciary and Public Safety Committee, to better understand the legislative landscape around 911 services.

Through these discussions, we have learned that the Reliable and Effective 911 Act, a bill that appears to offer a path toward resolving some of these issues, has not been granted a hearing and, according to the Chair of the Judiciary and Public Safety Committee, will not be scheduled for one. Furthermore, Councilmembers have indicated that additional provisions designed to improve public safety—such as the 911 System



Improvement Task Force established under the Whole Government Response to Crime Act (B25-537)—have yet to be fully implemented and appear to have no path forward. Nearly 100 Advisory Neighborhood Commissioners have previously supported the concept of an independent task force to analyze and implement improvements for the District of Columbia's 911 Call Center.

Therefore, at the unanimous recommendation of the Public Safety Committee, ANC 6B urges you, Chair Pinto, to ensure that the Reliable and Effective 911 Act receives a hearing. While ANC 6B does not offer a position on the bill, ANC 6B believes that the bill should be considered and deliberated on to ensure the community is receiving vetted, well-crafted legislation that draws on a wide variety of possible solutions. Additionally, we call on the Mayor and the DC Council to prioritize and fully implement the 911 System Improvement Task Force as outlined in the Whole Government Response to Crime Act.

Please feel free to reach out with any questions regarding this request. Frank Avery, the 2024 Chair of the ANC 6B Public Safety Committee, can be contacted at 6B01@anc.dc.gov for further discussion or clarification.

We appreciate your attention to this urgent matter and look forward to working collaboratively to enhance public safety for all residents.

Sincerely,

Edward Ryder

2024 Chair, Advisory Neighborhood Commission 6B

CC:

Deputy Mayor of Judiciary and Public Safety Lindsey Appiah - Lindsey. Appiah@dc.gov

At-Large Councilmember Robert White, DC Council - rwhite@dccouncil.gov

At-Large Councilmember Christina Henderson, DC Council - <a href="mailto:chenderson@dccouncil.gov">chenderson@dccouncil.gov</a>

Ward 6 Councilmember Charles Allen, DC Council – <u>callen@dccouncil.gov</u>

Ward 1 Councilmember Brianne Nadeau, DC Council – <u>bnadeau@dccouncil.gov</u>

Marcus Manning, Ward 6 Liaison, Office of the Mayor – marcus.manning@dc.gov

Frank Avery, 6B01 Commissioner and Chair of the Public Safety Committee, ANC 6B - 6B01@anc.dc.gov

Jody Kent Lavy, Vice Chair, 6B06 Resident Member and Vice Chair of the Public Safety Committee, ANC 6B – jody.kent@gmail.com