

December 10, 2024

700 Pennsylvania Avenue SE Ste. #2032 Washington, DC 20003 6B@anc.dc.gov

OFFICERS

Chairperson Edward Ryder

Vice Chair
Vince Mareino

Secretary

David Sobelsohn

Treasurer Frank Avery

Parliamentarian *VACANT*

COMMISSIONERS

SMD 01 Frank Avery
SMD 02 Jerry Sroufe
SMD 03 David Sobelsohn
SMD 04 Frank D'Andrea
SMD 05 VACANT
SMD 06 Chander Jayaraman
SMD 07 Vince Mareino

SMD 08 Edward Ryder

SMD 09 Matt LaFortune

The Honorable Brian Schwalb Attorney General, District of Columbia 400 6th Street NW Washington, DC 20001 brian.schwalb@dc.gov

DELIVERED VIA EMAIL: brian.schwalb@dc.gov

Re: Invitation to Meet with ANC 6B Public Safety Committee in 2025

At a properly noticed general meeting on December 10, with a quorum present, Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) 6B voted unanimously, based on the unanimous recommendation of its Public Safety Committee, to submit the following request.

Dear Attorney General Schwalb:

On behalf of the residents of Advisory Neighborhood Commission 6B, I am writing to invite you to join a Public Safety Committee meeting or a full ANC 6B Commission meeting in 2025. We deeply value your leadership on critical public safety and justice issues and believe your insights would provide an invaluable opportunity for neighbors to learn more about your policy initiatives with the DC Council and where community members can play a role in supporting or discussing these efforts.

ANC 6B's Public Safety Committee Chair previously invited you at its committee's request on May 30th and September 3rd in 2024 to no avail with your office. Therefore, the Public Safety Committee voted unanimously to ask the full Commission to extend this ask in hopes of prioritizing your attendance at a 2025 meeting.

As you may know, ANC 6B serves approximately 18,000 residents across Capitol Hill and regularly engages with community stakeholders and elected officials to ensure robust dialogue on issues impacting our neighborhood. Each January, ANC 6B sets its calendar for the nine-member Commission and its four standing committees, which typically consist of 10 to 30 resident appointees in addition to all nine commissioners. Once the 2025 calendar is finalized, we respectfully ask that you designate a member of your team to work with ANC 6B to identify a mutually agreeable meeting date. We specifically ask we not be referred to lengthy forms as we, as a completely volunteer body, publish our meetings dates publicly. This should make finding a mutually beneficial time relatively simple.

We hope this invitation will provide an opportunity for a meaningful exchange between your office and the ANC 6B community on topics of shared importance.



Please feel free to reach out with any questions regarding this request. Frank Avery, the 2024 Chair of the ANC 6B Public Safety Committee, can be contacted at 6B01@anc.dc.gov for further discussion or clarification.

We appreciate your attention and look forward to working collaboratively to enhance public safety for all residents.

Sincerely,

Edward Ryder

2024 Chair, Advisory Neighborhood Commission 6B

CC:

Juan Ulloa, Community Outreach Specialist, Office of the Attorney General for DC (OAG) – juan.ulloa@dc.gov Frank Avery, 2024 Chair of ANC 6B Public Safety Committee and Commissioner for 6B01 – 6B01@anc.dc.gov Ward 6 Councilmember Charles Allen, DC Council – callen@dccouncil.gov

Jody Kent Lavy, Vice Chair, 6B06 Resident Member and Vice Chair of the Public Safety Committee, ANC 6B – jody.kent@gmail.com