

November 15, 2023

700 Pennsylvania Avenue SE Ste. #2032 Washington, DC 20003 6B@anc.dc.gov

OFFICERS

Chairperson Edward Ryder

Vice-Chair Chander Jayaraman

Secretary David Sobelsohn

Treasurer Frank Avery

Parliamentarian Kasie Durkit

COMMISSIONERS

SMD 01 Frank Avery SMD 02 Jerry Sroufe SMD 03 David Sobelsohn SMD 04 Frank D'Andrea SMD 05 Kasie Durkit SMD 06 Chander Jayaraman SMD 07 Vince Mareino SMD 08 Edward Ryder

SMD 09 Matt LaFortune

Billie Tsien, Chair U.S. Commission of Fine Arts 401 F Street NW, Suite 312 Washington, DC 20001

VIA E-MAIL: cfastaff@cfa.gov

RE: SL 24-036 - 229-233 Pennsylvania Avenue & 203 3rd Street SE

Dear Chair Tsien:

At a regularly scheduled, properly noticed, meeting on November 14th, 2023, with a quorum present, Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) 6B voted (8-1-0) to transmit this letter to you regarding the above referenced matter.

ANC 6B believes that the design as presented to us for the buildings is generally appropriate and fits the character of the Capitol Hill neighborhood. The Commission, however, takes no position on the courtyard area at this time. The construction of the courtyard as proposed is contingent upon the alley at the rear of the properties being closed. That alley closing is currently before the Commission as a separate matter.

While we find the design generally appropriate, we write with respect to the issues of the privacy fence and roof terrace plantings at the rear of the property. Both elements are located on the roof of the structure that is designated as 203 3rd Street Rear SE. This is an area of concern for the adjacent neighbors, and we would respectfully request for the applicants be given maximum flexibility to increase the height of the fence and include sound-buffering plants (such as evergreen shrubs) to allow for optimal privacy and noise mitigation.

Thank you for your consideration of our views. Please contact Frank D'Andrea, Chair of ANC6B Planning and Zoning Committee at 6b04@anc.dc.gov if you have questions or need further information.

Respectfully,

Edward Ryder

Chair, ANC 6B



Cc:

Applicants:
PZ Committee Chair: Christine Shiker/Christipher Cohen

Frank D'Andrea

Jerry Sroufe, SMD 6B02 SMD Commissioner: